You are here

21st-Century Independents

After a period of creative dormancy, the once-vital American independent cinema has experienced a resurgence in the past decade. Even though the budgets might be small-to-nonexistent and the names unfamiliar (for now), exciting new artists from all corners of this country have found innovative ways to tell stories we haven’t heard yet and introduce us to people that we’ve never seen on screen before. This series, organized by Associate Curator Chris Stults, offers the Columbus theatrical premieres of some of the best new and recent truly independent films.

Past Events

Two Gates of Sleep Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Cold Weather Fri, Mar 25, 2011 - Thu, Mar 31, 2011
Gateway Film Center
Ballast Thu, Mar 24, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Seven Songs About Thunder
Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench
Thu, Mar 17, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Putty Hill Fri, Mar 11, 2011 - Sat, Mar 12, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Littlerock Thu, Mar 10, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Night Catches Us Thu, Mar 3, 2011
Film/Video Theater
Man with a Movie Camera

Be here Monday, September 14 as Alloy Orchestra takes the stage in our Film/Video Theater to accompany a restoration of Dziga Vertov’s Man with a Movie Camera.

Clark

Join us Thursday, September 10 for a Next@Wex double bill featuring Tyondai Braxton and Clark, two innovators in the experimental electronica scene.