Wexner Center Foundation Board Appoints New Trustees

Thu, Oct 27, 2005

The Wexner Center Foundation announced yesterday the appointment of two new board trustees: James E. Kunk, president of the central region of The Huntington National Bank, and Kevin E. Walker, president and chief operating officer of AEP-Ohio.

“The leadership skills and diversity of experience that both Walker and Kunk bring to the table will greatly enhance the Wexner Center Foundation board,” says Wexner Center Foundation Board Chair Leslie H. Wexner. “Both are highly regarded in the business and nonprofit community, and we welcome them.”

James E. Kunk An Ohio State alumnus and an active member of the Columbus community, James E. Kunk presently serves as president of the central region of The Huntington National Bank. Kunk has held several leadership positions at Huntington since joining the company in 1981. He has also served as account executive for InsuranceOhio Company (a subsidiary of The Ohio Company) and international insurance brokerage Alexander & Alexander Inc., and is a member of the Bank Trade Organization, Robert Morris Associates.

Kunk also serves on the boards of CAPA (Columbus Association for the Performing Arts), Franklin University, The Columbus Zoological Association, and Ohio Bankers League. A graduate of The Ohio State University as well as The Graduate School of Banking at The University of Wisconsin, Kunk resides in Dublin with his wife, Diana, and two daughters.

Kevin E. Walker A former officer in the U.S. Army, Kevin E. Walker is currently president and COO for AEP-Ohio, which serves more than a million customers in Ohio and the northern West Virginia panhandle. Previously he was with Consolidated Edison of New York, where he directed efforts in the five boroughs of New York City and Westchester, and where he was instrumental in directing recovery of energy service following the collapse of the World Trade Center on Sept. 11, 2001. As Consolidated Edison’s New York City public affairs liaison, he was the primary interface with the New York City mayor’s office during Rudy Giuliani’s administration.

Walker is an adviser to the board of directors for Comprehensive Development Inc., a nonprofit organization that supports mentoring and development programs for the Manhattan Comprehensive Night and Day High School. In 1999, he received the Harlem YMCA’s Black Achiever in Industry Award.

Walker graduated in 1985 from the United States Military Academy with a bachelor’s of science in civil engineering. He served for more than six years in the United States Army, including as a captain in field artillery leadership positions in Augsburg, Germany; at Fort Bragg, N.C.; and during peacetime and wartime conditions in support of Operation Desert Storm in Iraq. He also has a master’s of business administration from the University of Pennsylvania Wharton School.


Chair: Leslie H. Wexner, founder, chairman, and CEO, Limited Brands

Vice Chair: Dr. Karen A. Holbrook, president, The Ohio State University

President: C. Robert Kidder, partner, Stonehenge Partners Inc.

David M. Aronowitz, executive vice president and general counsel, The Scotts Company

Michael J. Canter, partner, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease

Sherri Geldin, director, Wexner Center for the Arts

Ann Gilbert Getty, publisher and philanthropist

Agnes Gund, president emerita, The Museum of Modern Art, New York

Brian K. Hicks, president and CEO, Hicks Partners LLP; Ohio State Board of Trustees

Charlotte P. Kessler, arts patron

John Kobacker, president, The Marlenko Group

James E. Kunk, president, central region, The Huntington National Bank

Bill Lambert, collector and philanthropist

Ronald A. Pizzuti, chairman and CEO, The Pizzuti Companies

Marshall Rose, chairman, The Georgetown Company

Joyce Shenk, community volunteer

Alex Shumate, managing partner, Squire, Sanders & Dempsey A.

Alfred Taubman, chairman, The Taubman Company

Barbara Trueman, owner and president, TrueSports Inc.

Kevin E. Walker, president and COO, AEP-Ohio

Ric Wanetik, president, The Ricochet Group LLC

Abigail S. Wexner, attorney and community advocate

John F. Wolfe, chairman, publisher, and CEO, The Columbus Dispatch


Karen A. Bell, dean, College of the Arts, The Ohio State University

Barbara R. Snyder, executive vice president and provost, The Ohio State University

Bruce A. Soll, senior vice president and counsel, Limited Brands

Mark E. Vannatta, partner, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease


Downloadable Assets