You are here

14th Annual Ohio Short Film & Video Showcase to Feature 33 Independently Produced Works

14th Annual Ohio Short Film & Video Showcase to Feature 33 Independently Produced Works

Wed, Apr 29, 2009

Wide Range of Genres, Themes, and Ages Selected

The Ohio film and videomakers who will participate in the Wexner Center’s annual Ohio Short Film & Video Showcase—which takes place at the Wexner Center May 9—have been announced. The showcase, now in its 14th year, is an open statewide, juried event, and features both a youth and adult division. The youth division screenings will be held at 4:30 pm, followed by a reception at 5:30 pm, and the adult division of the showcase takes place at 7 pm.


In the adult division, 12 films (all 20 minutes or less) have been chosen from over 60 entries. Included this year are documentary, drama, performance art, comedy, experimental, and more.

The filmmakers in this year’s adult division are Corey Aumiller, Rebecca Loar, Colin James McDonald, Matt Meindl, Beth Murphy, Charlie Roberts, Kevin Van Scoder, Adam Smith (all from Columbus), Phil Garrett, Dan Gerdeman, John Whitney (all from Grove City), Meredith Carr (Athens), Bruce Checefsky (Cleveland), Ben Garchar (Fairborn), and Cole Pisano (Westerville). More details on the participating filmmakers and highlights of the Showcase can be found here.

The 14th annual Ohio Short Film & Video Showcase will take place on May 9, at the Wexner Center for the Arts Film/Video Theater, 1871 N. High St. The youth division screenings (60 minutes) will be held at 4:30 pm, followed by a free reception at 5:30 pm, and the adult division (85 minutes) of the showcase takes place at 7 pm. Tickets for the youth division showcase are $2 for all audiences. Adult division tickets are $3 for all audiences.

 The jurors for the adult division were Mike Olenick, video editor in the Wexner Center’s Art & Tech studios; Chris Stults, Wexner Center film curator; and Tim Lanza, director of the Rohauer Collection film archives.


In the youth division (18 years old or younger), 21 films—all under 10 minutes, and as short as 31 seconds—have been chosen out of over 50 entries from all corners of Ohio. Among the films, three top prizes will be awarded (including Wexner Center Store gift certificates, and passes for upcoming Film/Video screenings), with an Audience Choice award (including a Flip MinoHC video camera provided by an anonymous donor), chosen the day of the screening and based on votes from the audience on paper ballot.

The films this year include traditional filmmaking narratives, clay-animation, stop-motion, flash animation, music videos, and other styles. The themes of each film are as varied as the genres, from love to fantasy to loneliness.

The filmmakers in this year’s youth division are (in alphabetical order): Rachel Bodien, age 17 (Upper Arlington); Josh Brown, 17 (Hilliard); Andrew Deas, 17 (Hilliard); Gus Dieker, 16 (Columbus 3rd-place prizewinner); Veronica Easly, 16 (Dayton); Mark Emch, 17 (Gahanna—1st place prizewinner); Matthew Giacalone, 17 (Dublin); Adam Glassman, 17 (Dublin); Sarah Hale, 17 (Hilliard); Prentiss Haney, 16 (Dayton—2nd-place prizewinner); Truman Hatch, 17 (Columbus); Zach Hurliman, 16 (Perry—honorable mention), Kati Keenan, 17 (Dublin); Ashley Nicol Knotts, 18 (St. Paris); Colin McDonald, 18 (Dublin); Emily Messick, 15 (Upper Arlington); Alexander Reynolds, 16 (Dayton); Olivia Smith, 8 (Westerville); Sarah Sutphin, 17 (Dayton); and the DRAW 3 Animation Class, Hilliard Davidson High School. More details on the participating filmmakers and highlights of the showcase can be found here.

The jurors for the youth division were Jennifer Lange, Wexner Center associate curator of media arts and manager of the Art & Tech video and sound editing facility; Kendall Loftus, teen artist, designer, and Dublin Coffman High School student; and Amy Delahanty, media artist, and arts educator. Both of these jurors are Wexner Center volunteers.

In addition to the top prizes, Cardinal Health—in a new partnership with the Wex—has chosen five finalists from the youth division applicants to produce a PSA on prescription drug abuse. These finalists will receive a $1,000 stipend from Cardinal Health (and ongoing technical support from the Wexner Center) to participate in a preliminary strategy session and create a 15-second spot. (Once those spots are completed, one of the artists will be selected for an additional $2,500 prize and may have their piece broadcast nationally.) For more information on the Cardinal Initiative, contact Corey Kerr at




Significant contributions for the Wexner Center’s 2008–09 film/video season are made by the Rohauer Collection Foundation.

Ohio Short Film & Video Showcase Youth Division 2009 is presented with support from Cardinal Health Foundation.

All film/video programs and events also receive support from the Corporate Annual Fund of the Wexner Center Foundation and Wexner Center members, as well as from the Greater Columbus Arts Council, The Columbus Foundation, Nationwide Foundation, and the Ohio Arts Council.

PARKING UPDATE: Construction at 15th and High. For more information click here.

Sign up to receive center event updates directly in your inbox.

Enjoy an array of benefits including free gallery admission, ticket discounts, and more.

Find us, follow us, and continue the conversation wherever you are online.